Home Movies Fanart Videos Extras Links
This is a list of British period films that we have compiled from different sources. We will be adding many more as we seek out and gather them. This is only the beginning of the list as there are so many more out there. If you feel there is a movie we have left out by all means let us know but first you should know that we are following certain criteria. All the movies listed came out after 1970 and they all took place somewhere in Britain (England, Wales, Scotland, Ireland). The time period these took place was in the 18th and 19th Centuries.

Please note that the synopsis's for these movies were obtained from Amazon and IMDB. Some of these may be viewer descriptions so if you see a review that was written by used on these movies and want your name added to it please let us know and we will be happy to add your name :)
Jamaica Inn (2014) The Forsyte Saga  (1967)
Sense and Sensibility (2008) North and South (1975)
Great Expectations (2012) The Mystery of Edwin Drood
Treasure Island (1990) St Ives
Jane Eyre (2011) The Clandestine Marriage (1999)
Emma (2010) Dorian Gray (2009)
Cranford: Return to Cranford Bleak House (2005)
Poldark Moll Flanders (1996)
The Fortunes & Misfortunes of Moll Flanders Master and Commander
The Scarlet Pimpernel (1982) The Scarlet Pimpernel (1999)
Rob Roy Firelight
Basil The Lady and the Highwayman
A Hazard of Hearts Duel of Hearts
Kidnapped (2005) Kidnapped (1995)
Northanger Abbey (2007) Persuasion (2007)
Mansfield Park (2007) Jane Eyre (2006)
Pride and Prejudice (2005) Pride & Prejudice (1996)
Pride and Prejudice  (1980) Sense and Sensibility (1985)
Daniel Deronda Mansfield Park   (1999)
Middlemarch Horatio Hornblower
Wives and Daughters Lorna Doone  (2000)
Mansfield Park  (1983) Lorna Doone  (1990)
Northanger Abbey  (1986) Mill on the Floss  (1997)
A Tale of Two Cities  (1989) Persuasion  (1995)
Sharpe's Series A Little Princess
The Forsyte Saga  (2002)
The Wings of the Dove
The Woman in White Bleak House  (1985)
The Old Curiosity Shop  (1995) Mayor of Casterbridge  (2003)
Martin Chuzzlewit Little Dorrit's Story  (1988)
The Return of the Native The Moonestone
The Way We Live Now Pollyanna  (2003)
He Knew He Was Right The Mayor of Casterbridge  (1978)
An Ideal Husband  (1999) The Importance of Being Earnest  (2002)
Jane Eyre  (1983) Jane Eyre  (1996)
Vanity Fair  (1998) Vanity Fair   (2004)
Great Expectations   (1999) Tess of the D'Urbervilles   (1998)
Far From the Madding Crowd   (1998) Wuthering Heights   (1992)
Wuthering Heights   (1970) Solomon and Gaenor
Our Mutual Friend Emma  (1996)
Tom Jones (A & E version)   (1997) Lady Audley's Secret
Nicholas Nickleby  (2001) Nicholas Nickleby   (2002)
David Copperfield   (1999) David Copperfield   (1969)
Emma  (1996) The Tenant of Wildfell Hall
Jane Eyre  (1997) Catherine Cookson's The Cinder Path
Catherine Cookson's The Secret Catherine Cookson's The Tide of Life
Catherine Cookson's The Black Candle Catherine Cookson's The Black Velvet Gown
Catherine Cookson's The Rag Nymph Catherine Cookson's The Wingless Bird
Catherine Cookson's The Dwelling Place Catherine Cookson's The Man Who Cried
Catherine Cookson's The Girl Catherine Cookson's The Moth
Catherine Cookson's The Round Tower Catherine Cookson's The Glass Virgin
Catherine Cookson's The Fifteen Streets Jane Eyre  (1970)
Persuasion  (1971) Wuthering Heights   (1998)
The Secret Garden  (1993) North and South
David Copperfield  (2000) The Buccaneers
Under the Greenwood Tree The Woodlanders
The Abduction Club Sense and Sensibility   (1995)
Silas Marner (1985) A Christmas Carol  (1951)
Cranford Lost in Austen
The Old Curiosity Shop  (2007) Tess of the D'Urbervilles   (2008)
The Devils Whore Little Dorrit  (2008)
Wuthering Heights  (2009) Oliver Twist  (2007)
Oliver Twist  (2005) Oliver Twist  (1999)
Tess (1979)  

This is another site from Wild Dreams Productions
All original content on this page is the sole property of Wild Dreams Productions and not to be copied or used without permission.